Pathologies and treatment

THE MEDICAL AND SURGICAL CARDIOLOGY DEPARTMENT

Croix urgences  Useful cardiology numbers

This site is addressed to individuals, whether or not they suffer from heart disease, and also to medical students, general practitioners, specialists and cardiologists, in view of providing useful information on cardiovascular pathologies, their treatment, and the activities of the cardiology department of the university hospital center of Poitiers.

The medical and surgical cardiology department of the Poitiers CHU optimizes its qualities on behalf of your at times worrisomely palpitating organ: proactive organization built around coping with emergencies; a highly complete technical platform; physicians, surgeons and intensive care specialists who work as a cohesive team; timely offers of tangible solutions based on preventive thinking and therapeutic education.

Our objective is to provide excellent care of cardiac and vascular pathologies while privileging teaching and research.

Definition:  Cardiology is the medical specialty that deals with the heart and the blood vessels, particularly their diseased states.  Cardiac surgery: Cardiac or heart surgery is the surgical specialty dealing with diseases of the heart and the large blood vessels. Thoracic surgery: Thoracic surgery is the surgical specialty dealing with diseases of the lung and thorax. 

THE TREATMENT OF PATIENTS IN CARDIOLOGY

The medical and surgical cardiology department treats all the acute and chronic cardiovascular pathologies: myocardial infarction and all clinical forms of coronary disease, acute and chronic heart failure, cardiac rhythm and conduction disorders, valvular heart disease, treatable thoracic pain, thromboembolic disorders such as phlebitis and pulmonary embolism, arterial hypertension, pulmonary hypertension, controllable vascular risk factors. We also provide athletes with cardiologic check-ups and, more generally, we propose a wide variety of examinations, particularly as regards congenital pathologies of the child and the adult.

To carry out its tasks, the medical and surgical cardiology department has 106 beds spread out in 4 hospitalization units, including a cardiothroacic surgery unit, a cardiologic consultation and exploration unit, a cardiac intervention unit, an electrophysiology and cardiac stimulation unit, a cardiovascular disease prevention center and a town-hospital network for home treatment of persons suffering from chronic heart failure  (Radic).

The department is one of the few in France to have brought together, in the same entity, medical and surgical treatment.


Providing patients with a warm welcome

cardio

Proper admission of a patient consists not only in answering his need for information, but also in providing him with the many forms of attention that, taken as a whole, can help to allay his anxieties. For more than five years, all the ingredients of a warm welcome have been embedded in the protocol applied in the heart and lung center. There now exists a comprehensive introductory booklet presenting the center and its activities.

In English, please!
Given the increasing number of English patients and the corresponding need for an effective therapeutic approach during an interview, the medical and surgical cardiology department is planning to dedicate a monthly consultation to these patients.

P25-26 CHUMAG65

A CARDIO-GERIATRIC UNIT HAS OPENED 

CHU-magazine n°65 – Dec. 2012

 

EMERGENCIES AT THE CENTER

As soon as the patient is admitted, intensive cardiological care, operation theaters, medical or surgical “reanimation” (resuscitation/intensive care), interventional cardiology, interventional rhythmology and the technical exploration platform are all close at hand. The men and material are ready for every emergency and determined to gain time, when time is of the essence.

As the only center in the Vienne department authorized to practice interventional cardiology, 24 hours a day the department treats infarction by angioplasty, management of the most severe rhythm disturbances, and responses to all other cardiac emergencies.

Organization

cardioProximity allows immediate confrontation, at any time, of the opinions voiced by the different specialists:

  • specialized cardiologists,
  • cardiac surgeons,
  • intensive care anesthetists … present 24h/24, 7 days/7.

A coordinating nurse ensures the relay between the cardiology department and doctors exterior to the CHU, who consequently always have the same interlocutor and a direct phone line to the department, whatever their request: advice, hospitalization, consultation…

CARDIAC SURGERY AND THORACIC SURGERY

cardioThree surgeons practice in the cardiology department, the only center in the region to perform heart surgery; the department is consequently the regional “recourse” or referral center. Its surgeons perform more than 500 heart operations a year, more than half of which (55%) are coronary bypass operations, while 40% are for valve repair and replacement.

While the cardiac surgery unit of Poitiers does not carry out heart transplantation, its surgeons are tasked with implanting external and artificial ventricles in patients having had an infarctus or urgently requiring oxygenation or higher blood pressure. Artificial cardiac assistance can “buy” time for both the patient and the doctor.

Over recent years, the department’s cardiac surgeons have developed several techniques contributing to care quality and patient comfort. For ten years, in view of minimizing operative risks, some surgeries have been conducted on a beating heart. Practitioners can install aortic valvular prostheses by making 8-centimeter incisions in the thorax.

The Poitiers team also carries out triple bypass from two internal mammary arteries. They strongly prefer mitral valve repair to its replacement with a prosthesis. In point of fact, biological prostheses only have a limited life span, and installation of a mechanical prosthesis requires anticoagulants during the entire life span. Valve repair is consequently preferable in terms of everyday comfort and reduced risk of complications. However, when insertion of a biological valve is necessary, it will be surely one day be done – this is in the study phase – by minimally invasive surgery; the valves would enter in a folded position via the femoral artery or the apex of the heart and unfold at the desired location.

If necessary, a surgeon can treat cardiac rhythm disorders by applying radio-frequency clamps around the heart. This is a supplementary illustration of one of the original aspects if the CHU Poitiers cardiology department: the grouping together of medical and surgical treatment and the close proximity of all relevant specialties are highly conducive to synergy and optimized action.

To sum up, the quality of the treatment provided by the medical and surgical cardiology department of the Poitiers CHU is based on genuinely multidisciplinary discussions revolving around a platform of technically sophisticated equipment — and it is thanks to the humanism characterizing its teams that the center continually improves the way it receives is patients.

DIAGNOSTIC AND INTERVENTIONAL ELECTROPHYSIOLOGY AND CARDIAC PACING

In the cardiology department, rhythmology is carried out by three practitioners. In two exploration rooms, the unit’s diagnostic and therapeutic tests are performed.

Rhythmology facilitates diagnosis and treatment of cardiac rhythm disorders, particularly in prevention of sudden cardiac death caused by abnormal heart rhythms.

There are two main activities:

  • treatment of rhythm disorders including flutters, Wolff Parkinson syndrome, ventricular tachycardia and atrial fibrillation;
  • implantation of pacemakers and implantable automatic defibrillators. Practitioners implant not only pacemakers, but also “multi-site” defibrillators that facilitate resynchronization of myocardial walls in treatment of certain types of heart failure.

The department contributes to the development of innovatory technologies, and serves as a reference center in this field.

THE LABORATORY OF HEMODYNAMICS AND INTERVENTIONAL CARDIOLOGY

As the only authorized interventional cardiology center in the Vienne department, the laboratory is composed of two recently installed cardiac catheterization rooms.

This department treats acute coronary syndromes,  24h/24, 7 days /7.

The procedures performed in this unit include:

  • diagnostic hemodynamic explorations;
  • coronarography and interventional cardiology (coronary angioplasty: endocoronary prostheses, Rotablator, new intra-coronary imaging technologies: OCT, FFR…),
  • aortic valve replacement by percutaneous route (TAVI),
  • septal alcoholization,
  • left atrial appendage closure.

This section is particularly invested in the new interventional treatment modalities applied during the acute phase of myocardial infarction and in acute coronary syndromes.

EXTERNAL CONSULTATIONS AND CARDIOLOGICAL EXPLORATIONS

The department provides consultations in:

  • general cardiology;
  • pediatric cardiology and congenital cardiopathies;
  • monitoring of pacemakers and cardiac defibrillators.

It also contains a technical platform dedicated to thoroughgoing cardiac exploration.

THE HEART FAILURE HOME ASSISTANCE NETWORK (RADIC)

Understanding one’s illness and living longer 

In France, from 600,000 to a million persons have a heart that can no longer correctly carry out its tasks as a pump and can no longer ensure the flow of blood essential to the normal functioning of bodily organs; this condition is known as heart failure.

This disease presents distinctly high morbidity and mortality levels and occasions, on the average, one or two hospitalizations a year. However, American and Scandinavian studies have shown that when patients are properly informed and monitored, morbidity can be reduced by 30 to 50%.

In fact, in 2004 one of the first French cells in therapeutic education was created in the CHU of Poitiers: the heart failure assistance network, the Radic. It is aimed at improving the quality of life of heart failure patients by providing them with therapeutic education adapted to their pathology, their life habits and their environment. The Radic also organizes treatment by optimizing health care connections between the hospital and the private sector.

To date, more than 1000 persons have been monitored by the network. After establishment of a synthesis of the patient’s knowledge on heart failure, treatment, diet and physical activity, the educational program is meant to help the patient to adapt his behavior according to his disease and thereby reduce potential complications.

Access to the Radic site (in French).

Pathologies et prises en charge

Les services de cardiologie et de chirurgie cardio-vasculaire et thoracique

Croix urgences  Numéros utiles de cardiologie

Ce site est destiné aux particuliers, qu’ils soient porteurs d’une maladie du cœur ou non, ainsi qu’aux étudiants en médecine, médecins généralistes, spécialistes ou cardiologues, dans un but d’information sur les pathologies cardiovasculaires, leurs traitements et les prestations du service de cardiologie du Centre hospitalier universitaire de Poitiers.

Les services de cardiologie et de chirurgie cardio-vasculaire et thoracique du CHU de Poitiers déploient tous leurs atouts pour les petits et grands ratés de notre précieux palpitant : une organisation optimale axée sur l’urgence, un plateau technique très complet, des médecins, des chirurgiens et des réanimateurs qui travaillent de concert et des solutions concrètes de prévention et d’éducation thérapeutique.

Leurs objectifs sont d’offrir des soins d’excellence dans les domaines des pathologies cardiaques et vasculaires et de favoriser l’enseignement et la recherche.

Définition : La cardiologie est la spécialité médicale qui traite du cœur et des vaisseaux sanguins, en particulier de leurs maladies.Chirurgie cardiaque : La chirurgie cardiaque est la spécialité chirurgicale traitant les affections du cœur et des gros vaisseaux thoraciques.Chirurgie thoracique : La chirurgie thoracique est la spécialité chirurgicale traitant les affections des poumons et du thorax.

LA PRISE EN CHARGE DES PATIENTS EN CARDIOLOGIE

Les services de cardiologie et de chirurgie cardio-vasculaire et thoracique prennent en charge toutes les pathologies cardiovasculaires aiguës ou chroniques : l’infarctus du myocarde et toutes les formes cliniques de la maladie coronarienne, l’insuffisance cardiaque aiguë et chronique, les troubles du rythme et de la conduction cardiaque, les valvulopathies, la prise en charge de la douleur thoracique, les maladies thrombo-emboliques telles que les phlébites et les embolies pulmonaires, l’hypertension artérielle, l’hypertension artérielle pulmonaire, la prise en charge des facteurs de risques vasculaires, le bilan cardiaque des sportifs et, de façon plus générale tous les bilans cardiologiques et les pathologies congénitales de l’enfant et de l’adulte.

Pour assurer leurs missions, les services de cardiologie et de chirurgie cardio-vasculaire et thoracique disposent de 106 lits répartis en 4 unités d’hospitalisation, dont une unité de chirurgie cardio-thoracique, une unité de consultations et d’explorations cardiologiques, une unité de cardiologie interventionnelle, une unité d’électrophysiologie et de stimulation cardiaque, d’un centre de prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaires, d’un réseau ville-hôpital de prise en charge à domicile des insuffisants cardiaques chroniques (Apic).

Le service est un des seuls en France à rassembler, sous la même identité, les prises en charges médicales et chirurgicales.


Bien accueillir les patients

Bien accueillir un patient, c’est répondre à son besoin d’information mais aussi faire preuve de multiples attentions qui, mises bout à bout, contribuent à réduire l’anxiété des patients. Voici plus de cinq ans que toutes les composantes d’un bon accueil ont été intégrées à un protocole appliqué dans le pôle coeur-poumons. Ce protocole a donné naissance à un livret d’accueil très complet présentant le pôle et ses activités.

Le service effectue également des examens sous hypnose pour une meilleure prise en charge.

In english please
Au vu de l’augmentation du nombre de patients anglais et dans une démarche d’approche thérapeutique efficiente lors de l’entretien,Les services de cardiologie et de chirurgie cardio-vasculaire et thoracique envisagent de dédier une consultation par mois à ces patients.

L’URGENCE AU CENTRE

Les soins intensifs de cardiologie, les blocs opératoires et la réanimation cardio-chirurgicale, la cardiologie interventionnelle, la rythmologie interventionnelle et le plateau technique d’exploration sont à proximité immédiate du patient qui arrive. Les hommes et le matériel sont à disposition de chaque urgence pour gagner du temps, toujours gagner du temps.

De fait, seul centre de la Vienne autorisé à pratiquer la cardiologie interventionnelle, le service assure 24h/24 le traitement de l’infarctus par angioplastie et la prise en charge des troubles du rythme les plus graves, et toute autre urgence cardiologique.

cardioL’organisation

Cette proximité permet aussi une confrontation in situ des avis des différents spécialistes à tout moment :

  • cardiologues spécialisés,
  • chirurgiens cardiaques,
  •  anesthésistes-réanimateurs … présents 24h/24, 7 jours/7.

Une infirmière coordinatrice, assure le relais entre le service de cardiologie et les médecins extérieurs  au CHU. Ces derniers disposent ainsi toujours du même interlocuteur et d’un numéro direct au sein du service quelle que soit leur demande : conseil, hospitalisation, consultation…

 

LA CHIRURGIE CARDIO-VASCULAIRE ET THORACIQUE

Des chirurgiens exercent au sein du service de cardiologie, seul centre de la région à opérer le cœur. Le service est donc le centre de recours régional. Les chirurgiens réalisent plus de cardio500 opérations du cœur chaque année concernant pour plus de la moitié (55%) la réalisation de pontages coronariens et, à 40%, des réparations ou des remplacements de valves.

L’unité de chirurgie cardiaque de Poitiers ne fait pas de transplantations cardiaques, en revanche les chirurgiens posent des ventricules artificiels externes pour les patients ayant fait un infarctus et ayant besoin en urgence d’une oxygénation et d’une augmentation de la pression dans le sang. Ces assistances cardiaques artificielles permettent de donner du temps au patient comme au médecin.

Les chirurgiens cardiaques du service ont développé ces dernières années plusieurs techniques visant toujours la qualité et le confort du patient. Depuis une dizaine d’années, certaines opérations sont menées à cœur battant pour minimiser certains risques opératoires. Les praticiens peuvent aussi poser des prothèses valvulaires aortiques en faisant des incisions d’à peine 8 centimètres dans le thorax.

L’équipe de Poitiers effectue également trois pontages à partir des deux artères mammaires internes. Ils privilégient la réparation de la valve mitrale plutôt que son remplacement par une prothèse. En effet, les prothèses biologiques n’ont qu’une durée de vie limitée tandis que la mise en place d’une prothèse mécanique exige la prise d’anticoagulants pendant toute la durée de vie. La réparation de la valve est donc préférable pour le confort de vie et la diminution des risques de complications. Cependant, quand la pose d’une valve biologique s’impose, cela se fera certainement, c’est à l’étude, par une chirurgie mini-invasive : ces valves seraient amenées pliées via l’artère fémorale ou la pointe du cœur et se déplieraient à l’endroit souhaité.

Si besoin est, les chirurgiens peuvent aussi agir sur les troubles du rythme cardiaque avec l’application de pinces de radiofréquence autour du cœur. C’est une illustration supplémentaire d’un des aspects originaux du service de cardiologie du CHU de Poitiers : le regroupement des prises en charge médicales et chirurgicales alliées à la proximité optimale de toutes les spécialités induisent naturellement une complémentarité et une optimisation des actes.

Aussi, la qualité de la prise en charge assurée par les services de cardiologie et de chirurgie cardio-vasculaire et thoracique du CHU de Poitiers repose à la fois sur de réelles discussions pluridisciplinaires s’appuyant sur un plateau et des équipements d’une très haute technicité ; c’est aussi grâce à des équipes faisant preuve d’humanisme que le pôle poursuit son axe d’amélioration de l’accueil des patients.

L’ÉLECTROPHYSIOLOGIE DIAGNOSTIQUE ET INTERVENTIONNELLE ET LA STIMULATION CARDIAQUE

La rythmologie au sein du service de cardiologie est exercée par trois praticiens. Ils disposent de deux salles d’exploration où sont pratiqués tous les actes diagnostiques ou thérapeutiques.

Elle permet le diagnostique et le traitement des troubles du rythme cardiaque, en particulier la prévention de la mort subite d’origine rythmique.

Elle se compose de deux domaines :

  • le traitement des troubles du rythme, tel que les flutters, les syndromes de Wolff Parkinson White, les tachycardies ventriculaires et les fibrillations auriculaires ;
  • l’implantation des stimulateurs cardiaques et des défibrillateurs automatiques implantables. Parmi ces appareils implantés, les praticiens réalisent l’implantation de stimulateurs et défibrillateurs multisites qui permettent de resynchroniser les parois myocardiques pour le traitement de certaines insuffisances cardiaques.

Le service participe au développement de technologies innovantes, qui en font un centre de référence en ce domaine.

LE LABORATOIRE D’HÉMODYNAMIQUE ET DE CARDIOLOGIE INTERVENTIONNELLE

Seul centre de cardiologie interventionnelle autorisé sur la Vienne, le laboratoire dispose de deux salles de cathétérisme cardiaque, récemment installées.

Ce service assure la prise en charge des syndromes coronariens aigus, 24h/24, 7jours /7.

Sont réalisés dans cette unité :

  • les explorations hémodynamiques diagnostiques,
  • la coronarographie et la cardiologie interventionnelle coronaire (angioplasties coronariennes : prothèses endocoronaires, Rotablator, imagerie intra-coronaire : OCT , FFR…),
  • le traitement interventionnel des occlusions chroniques des coronaires,
  • le remplacement valvulaire aortique par voie percutanée (TAVI), clip mitral,
  • l’alcoolisation septale,
  • la fermeture d’auricule gauche, fermeture de foramen ovale perméable (FOP), CIA de l’adulte.

Ce secteur est particulièrement investi dans les nouvelles modalités de traitement interventionnel à la phase aiguë de l’infarctus du myocarde et des syndromes coronariens aigus.

LES CONSULTATIONS EXTERNES ET LES EXPLORATIONS CARDIOLOGIQUES

Le service dispense des consultations de :

  • cardiologie générale,
  • cardiologie pédiatrique et cardiopathies congénitales,
  • suivi des stimulateurs et défibrillateurs cardiaques.

Il a par ailleurs, un plateau technique d’exploration cardiaque complet.

Centre de prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaires

Le service de cardiologie regroupe ses deux activités concernant l’insuffisance cardiaque chronique (APIC) et la prises en charge des facteurs de risques cardio-vasculaires (CPMCV).

En savoir plus sur le Centre de prévention des maladies cardio-vasculaires.

 

P25-26 CHUMAG65L’UNITE DE CARDIO GÉRIATRIE

CHU-magazine n°65 – Dec. 2012

Prise en charge multidisciplinaire entre cardiologues et gériatres.