Pathologies and treatment

THE NEUROSURGERY DEPARTMENT

Neurochirurgien

The neurosurgery department treats patients presenting with a pathology involving the encephalon, the spinal cord, the peripheral nerves, their envelopes  (skull, vertebral-dorsal column, meninges) and their vessels. The pathology necessitates – or liable to necessitate – neurosurgery and/or radio-surgical treatment in stereotactic and/or endovascular conditions.   

These activities include handicap management (of spasticity, in particular) and pain treatment.

Neurosurgery is a regional – and at times extra-regional – activity necessitating readiness to treat  24h/24.

The department contains 56 hospitalization beds, including 19 intensive care beds, and receives more than 2500 hospitalized patients a year, among whom 1600 are operated in the two operation rooms specifically equipped to treat this type of pathology.

In addition, the department pursues activities in research and medical and paramedical teaching.

Neurochirurgie bloc

Neurosurgery emergencies (head trauma and spinal trauma, intracranial hypertension, subarachnoid hemorrhage by ruptured aneurysm, spinal cord compression, paralyzing sciatica and cauda equina syndrome) are managed following contact with the emergency phone number, and they function 24/24h.

Other diseases are treated first in consultation, with as short a waiting period as possible, especially when the situation is distressing (discovery of a brain tumor) or the pathology is painful hyperalgesic sciatica). An appointment can be made either by sending a fax, or by contacting a neurosurgeon (by e-mail or phone).

In close proximity to the neurosurgery consultations, the department offers two specialized consultations:

  • multidisciplinary consultation on spasticity and neuro-handicap;
  • multidisciplinary consultation on pain.
The objectives of this site are:

  • First, to help you to better understand your illness, and to provide you with information that will help you to better understand the proposed treatment options.
  • Second, to show you not just the pathologies treated, but also the surgical techniques available, as well as the involvement of the neurosurgery department in the biomedical research pursued at the CHU of Poitiers.

We thank you for visiting our site and hope that it fulfills your expectations. We thank you in advance for helping us to improve it and are asking you to provide us with your criticisms, remarks and suggestions: communication@chu-poitiers.fr

Nos consultations

TABLE OF CONTENTS

  • Brain tumor surgery in adult patients
  • Spinal surgery  is often essential to treatment of herniated discs and lumbar and cervical stenoses; endoscopy is frequent. This type of surgery can be conducted by all neurosurgeons.
  • Vascular neurosurgery. The neurosurgery department is structured so as to organize treatment in a single multidisciplinary unit revolving around a “tripod” (neurosurgery, neuro-radiology and neuro-anesthesia intensive care) in a fully equipped medical and technical environment. The department is consequently strongly and relevantly positioned as regards cerebral vascular malformations necessitating intracranial surgery or application of an endovascular technique.
  • Pituitary surgery. It involves collaboration with the internal medicine and endocrinology departments of the Poitou-Charentes region.
  • Acoustic neuroma (vestibular schwannona) surgery. It involves collaboration with the ENT department and our ENT correspondents in the region.
  • Functional and stereotactic neurosurgery represents a non-destructive and reversible treatment for Parkinson’s disease, Tourette’s syndrome, certain psychiatric disorders, chronic pain and spasticity. .
  • Neurosurgery for pain and disability.

 

BRAIN TUMOR SURGERY IN ADULT PATIENTS

General treatment procedures

La chirurgie des tumeurs cérébrales

Each year, more than 300 adult brain tumor (intracranial neoplasm) patients undergo operations in the neurosurgery department of the Poitiers CHU.

Except for cases requiring emergency surgery, treatment of brain tumor patients is discussed during one or more medical meetings, which bring together the different practitioners involved in their treatment. An initial neuro-oncology multidisciplinary coordination meeting (MCM)  (Onco Poitou-Charentes : www.onco-poitou-charentes.fr network) is dedicated to tumors of the nervous system,  a second to tumors particularly affecting the spinal column and a third to patients undergoing brain tumor operation in “awake brain surgery”. As regards patients with very rare pathologies, outside opinions can be requested, particularly from in nationwide back-up MCMs.

Available means of treatment

Operations for tumor pathologies draw support from a complete and comprehensive technical platform: computer-enhanced surgery,  stereotactic surgery, ventricular and  skull base endoscopy, multimodal cortical cartography, electro-physiology monitoring (microscopes, intraoperative ultrasound). The department  operates in close coordination with departments: ENT for acoustic neuroma, endocrinology for pituitary tumors, PRC for cancerology.

If necessary, the neuro-radiology department can carry out preoperative treatment, by endovascular embolization, of highly vascularized tumors (particularly for certain meningiomas).

The development over the last three years of wide-awake surgery has further improved treatment of brain tumor patients.

THE SPINAL UNIT – mini-invasive spinal surgery

Unité du rachis

Mini-invasive spinal surgery consists in a number of surgery techniques of which the main goal is to reduce the surgical traumas associated with surgical approach to the spine. This technological breakthrough is due largely to technical progress in visualization and optical illumination  (endoscopy and operating microscope) and to specific instrumentations designed to facilitate “mini-invasive” approaches.

Patient comfort is improved in terms of reduced postoperative pain, shortened hospital stay and a more rapid return to normal physical activity.

At the Poitiers CHU, mini-invasive techniques are now routinely applied by neurosurgeons in cervical disc and lumbar surgery, and also in spinal fusion procedures.

Mini-invasive spinal surgery can remove a lumbar discal hernia. As for patients undergoing  mini-invasive surgery for a disc herniation (slipped disc), some can return home on the day of their operation or – more often – the day after, and return to work 2 to 4 weeks after the intervention.

These different techniques allow for installation of spinal instrumentation. Vertebral compression fractures, for example osteoporosis in older patients, can also be treated using mini-invasive techniques (kyphoplasty).

Not all patients can be treated by these different mini-invasive approaches. If  and when surgery is necessary, during consultation your neurosurgeon will determine, in a discussion with you, whether or not a mini-invasive technique can be an option.

VASCULAR NEUROSURGERY

Aneurysms and meningeal hemorrhage (information for patients written by the Société française de neurochirurgie).

Neurochirurgie vasculaire

Cerebral aneurysm is a hernia of the arterial wall constituting a weak area; it is at times elongated (spindly aneurysm), but more often saccate. This area of weakness can fissure and even rupture, provoking a more or less sizable and severe hemorrhage; that is the most frequent circumstance of discovery. Its gravity is often considerable; one out of two ruptures is responsible for death prior to arrival in hospital! Indeed, rupture can entail the presence of blood on the periphery of the brain and also, in its most severe forms, penetration of the blood in brain tissue with the constitution of a collection of blood in the brain (hematoma and/or in the cavities inside the brain (ventricles).

An emergency scan, carried out at the time of the rupture, will confirm the existence of the hematoma and at times highlight the aneurysm.

More rarely, it is during an examination carried out for an entirely different reason that a scan, which takes place systematically, reveals an aneurysm on one of the pictures taken.

In most cases, it is necessary to perform an arteriography (injection in the vessels of a contrast agent) so as to show not only the aneurysm, but also the condition of the surrounding vessels.

The clinical examination may also identify other, associated aneurysms.  Arteriography is also indispensable in view of opting for the best possible treatment of the aneurysm.

Treatment
The goal of treatment is to separate the aneurysm to avoid a rupture (fortuitous discovery) or to avoid recurrence of the rupture (discovery during hemorrhaging).

Two methods exist:

  • Endovascular treatment (embolization) applied by neuro-radiologists; to date; 90% of aneurysms are treated according to this method by Doctors Drouineau and Velasco;
  • Surgical treatment (clipping) is carried out by neurosurgeons: Doctors Listrat and Blanc. Choice of treatment is subject to discussion between the neuro-radiologists and the neurosurgeons. All of the above treatments necessitate general anesthesia.

The guiding principles
The principle common to the two methods consists in blocking off the aneurysm while conserving the permeability of the vessels from which it originated. Endovacsular treatment consists, using a small probe placed inside the cavity, in inserting small coils until the aneurysm is completely blocked off. Surgical treatment consists in dissecting the aneurysm-carrying vessels, and then placing a small clip on the insertion zone (area through which the aneurysm communicates with the artery) so as to remove it from circulation.

Intracerebral hemorrhage

Often associated with arterial hypertension, these types of hematomas are relatively common. The neurosurgery intensive care unit provides patients in an acute phase with medical treatment; in the event of resistance to the treatment, surgery is proposed.

Vascular malformations

The term “cerebral arteriovenous malformation” (AVM) or “cerebral angioma” denotes a vascular malformation or abnormal connection between the arteries and the veins of the brain constituting a short-circuit bringing about abnormally elevated blood pressure in the malformation and in the veins draining it and potentially causing bleeding in the brain.  AVMs are more frequently located in the cerebrum than in the cerebellum. The volume of the lesion is highly variable, and it can be either deep or, on the contrary, superficial.

The malformation is congenital, which does not means it is hereditary.

Risks of worsening, conditions of discovery :

  • 1°The main risk in cases of AVM is rupture entailing hemorrhage, which occurs within the brain, around the lesion. It can be severe in terms of functional – and even vital – danger. It is the most frequent condition of discovery. The risk of rupture by year is 1 to 4%; it is cumulative and consequently higher when the subject is younger.
  • 2° Epileptic seizures represent the second means of revelation of AVM (30% of cases); they are associated with irritation of the part of the brain surrounding the lesion.
  • 3° More exceptionally, the diversion of blood flow provoked by a voluminous AVM leads to ischemic suffering of the brain; little by little, a motor or neuropsychological neurological deficit develops.
  • 4° More and more frequently, however, AVM is fortuitously discovered during a scan or MRI carried out on account of some other problem.

Diagnosis is given on the scanner and/or MRI. With some exceptions, it is not necessary to perform brain angiography  to diagnose AVM, which nonetheless represents an indispensable step towards making an informed decision regarding treatment.

Treatment is aimed at eliminating the AVM and thereby precluding the possibility of a hemorrhage.

Three means of treatment are currently at our disposal: embolization through endovascular route, surgery and stereotactic radiosurgery:

  • 1° Embolization through endovascular route is meant to occlude the abnormal vessels by injecting acrylic adhesive. It is often difficult to achieve complete and definitive occlusion of an AVM by this treatment alone, even with several sessions of embolization. Total eradication of an AVM is obtained only 15% of the time.
  • 2° Surgery is aimed at achieving complete and definitive ablation of the AVM; it is possible only when the lesion does not exceed a certain volume and is not deeply anchored in the brain. This type of treatment can be applied in certain hemorrhagic emergencies, particularly in children. Postoperative arteriographic control is necessary before affirmation that the AVM has been eliminated; if a residual fragment remains, another  operation – or radio-surgery – can be envisaged.
  • 3° Stereotactic radiosurgery consists in irradiation administered in a single session, the rays being precisely focused on the AVM. It is proposed when AVM diameter le less than 3 centimeters and, most often, is located deep in the brain.. The result is achieved only 2 or 3 years later, the reason being that the treatment provokes a delayed reaction at the level of the abnormal vessels, which little by little are blocked off.  Only an arteriography will justify the affirmation that the AVM has been eliminated; as long as elimination has not been ascertained, hemorrhagic risk remains present. In 69 to 90% of cases, according to the dimensions of the AVM, radiosurgery leads to its eradication.

These three forms of treatment all have precise indications that are considered in discussions between neurosurgeons, neuro-radiologists and radiotherapists. At times the treatments are blended or combined in view of achieving occlusion or complete and definitive eradication, which is the main and essential goal.

The more voluminous the arteriovenous malformation, the more it affects complex cerebral areas, and the greater the extent to which complete treatment will be difficult or dangerous. Incomplete palliative treatment may consequently be the only realistic option. Therapeutic abstention can be justified when a hemorrhagic clinical episode has never occurred.

PITUITARY SURGERY

Adénome hypophysaireClick here (in French)

ACOUSTIC NEUROMA (vestibular schwannona) SURGERY

Click here (in French)

FUNCTIONAL AND STEREOTACTIC NEUROSURGERY

Neurochirurgie fonctionnelleThe department in charge of stereotactic and functional neurosurgery with regard to abnormal movements and psychiatric disorders is recognized in its field as the interregional reference center. Deep brain stimulation (DBS) has been carried out as a key activity in  the neuroscience center in the unit known as “neuromodulation and pathologies of movement and behavior” in collaboration with Pr Houeto (neurologist) and Dr Jaafari (psychiatrist). The activity consisting in deep brain stimulation is coupled with major activities in research.


Film Parkinson

See a report on brain stimulation (in French)
Source : La Nouvelle République / Centre presse – February 2012

 

Deep brain stimulation is used as treatment in certain cases of Parkinson’s. It consists in electrically stimulating targeted structures in the brain, namely the subthalamic nucleus (STN) and the internal globus pallidus  (IGP), which regulate movements and muscle function.  A probe equipped with tiny electrodes is surgically implanted in the brain and subcutaneously connected by means of an extension to a neurostimulator implanted near the clavicle. Electrical stimulation can be non-invasively regulated according to the precise needs of a given patient.

The stimulation system is implanted by the functional neurosurgery team using a stereotactic frame and imaging techniques such as magnetic resonance imagery (MRI) to map and locate the target in the brain.  The probe is introduced in the skull through a “burr hole” and implanted in the targeted area of the brain.

The operation is carried out under general anesthesia and involves 1 or 2 phases of intraoperative awareness. Once the “burr hole” has been placed (trepanning), a test electrode is introduced in the brain. The patient being awake and aware, the neurosurgeon and a movement disorder specialist test the stimulation in view of optimizing the suppression of symptoms and reducing as much as possible any side effects, prior to putting into place a probe for chronic stimulation.

Neurochirurgie 2

Once the chronic stimulation neural probe has been implanted, general anesthesia ensues. An extension is installed under the scalp and under the skin of the neck and shoulder to connect the probe to the neurostimulator. Finally, a small incision is made near the clavicle and the neurostimulator is surgically positioned under the skin.

Shortly after the operation, the patient returns to consult the neurologist so that initial programming of the neurostimulator can be carried out. By programming the neurostimulator, the physician attempts to optimize mastery of Parkinson’s symptoms and to attenuate any possible side effects. He then plans out the follow-up consultations.

In order to regulate stimulation, the neurologist uses a program communicating by radio-frequency with the neurostimulator; this is a painless and non-invasive way of achieving regulation according to a patient’s needs.

Deep brain stimulation does not cure Parkinson’s disease, for which there does not currently exist any remedy. While it can treat some symptoms and improve some functions, it can by no means eliminate the underlying pathology. If the treatment is discontinued, the symptoms reappear.

Brain stimulation can act on not only neurological symptoms (Parkinson’s disease, Tourette syndrome, essential tremor and dystonia), but also on psychiatric phenomena such as OCD or major depression, fields in which our team is actively involved, internationally as well as nationally.

NEUROSURGERY FOR PAIN AND HANDICAPS

Functional neurosurgery uses implantable pumps for spasiticity and pain, implantable stimulators (chronic pain, intractable epilepsy) and some microsurgical interventions (neurovascular decompression for neuralgia or hemifacial spasm).

The neurosurgery department is particularly innovative in treatment of chronic pain.

Pathologies et prises en charge

LE SERVICE DE NEUROCHIRURGIE

NeurochirurgienLe service de neurochirurgie prend en charge des patients présentant une pathologie portant sur l’encéphale, la moelle épinière, les nerfs périphériques, leurs enveloppes (crâne, colonne vertébro-discale, méninges) et leurs vaisseaux et nécessitant ou susceptibles de nécessiter un acte neurochirurgical et/ou radio chirurgical en conditions stéréotaxiques et/ou endovasculaire.

Cet ensemble inclus également la prise en charge du handicap (spasticité en particulier) et de la douleur.

Il s’agit d’une activité régionale voir extra régionale qui nécessite une garde 24h/24.

Le service dispose de 56 lits d’hospitalisation, dont 19 lits de soins intensifs, qui reçoivent plus de 2 500 hospitalisés par an. Parmi eux plus de 1 600 sont opérés dans les 2 salles d’opérations spécialement équipées pour prendre en charge cette pathologie.

De plus, le service assure des activités de recherche et d’enseignement médical et paramédical.Neurochirurgie bloc

Les urgences neurochirurgicales (comme les traumatismes crâniens et rachidiens, l’hypertension intracrânienne, l’hémorragie méningée par rupture anévrysmale, la compression médullaire, la sciatique paralysante et le syndrome de la queue de cheval) sont prises en charge après contact par le numéro d’urgence, fonctionnant 24/24h.

Les autres affections sont prises en charge d’abord en consultation, avec des délais les plus courts possibles, et ce d’autant que la situation est angoissante (découverte d’une tumeur cérébrale) ou la pathologie douloureuse (sciatique hyperalgique). Un rendez-vous peut être obtenu soit en envoyant un fax, soit en contactant un neurochirurgien (par e-mail ou téléphone).

Aux cotés des consultations de neurochirurgie, le service offre 2 consultations spécialisées :

  • consultation multidisciplinaire de spasticité et neuro-handicap ;
  • consultation multidisciplinaire de la douleur.
L’objet de ce site est :

  • Premièrement, de vous aider à mieux comprendre votre maladie, et de vous apporter des informations qui vous aideront à mieux comprendre les options de traitement qui vous seront proposées.
  • Deuxièmement, de vous présenter non seulement les pathologies traitées, mais aussi les moyens chirurgicaux disponibles, ainsi que l’implication du service de neurochirurgie dans la recherche bio médicale développée au CHU de Poitiers.

Nous vous remercions pour votre visite de ce site et espérons qu’il répondra à vos attentes. Nous vous remercions par avance de nous aider à l’améliorer et vous invitons pour cela à nous faire part de vos critiques, remarques et suggestions : communication@chu-poitiers.fr

Nos consultations

SOMMAIRE

  • La chirurgie des tumeurs cérébrales des patients adultes
  • La chirurgie du rachis permet la prise en charge des hernies discales, des sténoses lombaires et cervicales en privilégiant les techniques endoscopiques. Cette chirurgie est réalisée par l’ensemble des neuro-chirurgiens.
  • La neurochirurgie vasculaire. Le service de neurochirurgie est structuré pour l’organisation des soins en une entité médicale multidisciplinaire reposant sur un trépied (neurochirurgie, neuroradiologie et neuroanesthésie réanimation) au sein d’un environnement médico technique complet. Cela lui donne un positionnement très fort et très pertinent sur la filière de la pathologie vasculaire cérébrale malformative pouvant nécessiter une chirurgie intracrânienne ou une technique endovasculaire.
  • La chirurgie de l’hypophyse. Elle implique une collaboration avec les services de médecine interne et d’endocrinologie de la région Poitou-Charentes.
  • La chirurgie du neurinome de l’acoustique. Elle implique une collaboration avec le service d’ORL et nos correspondants ORL de la région.
  • La neurochirurgie fonctionnelle et stéréotaxique permet un traitement non destructeur et réversible pour la maladie de Parkinson, la maladie de Gilles de la Tourette, certains troubles psychiatriques, les douleurs chroniques et la spasticité.
  • La neurochirurgie de la douleur et du handicap.

 


LA CHIRURGIE DES TUMEURS CÉRÉBRALES DES PATIENTS ADULTES

Organisation générale de la prise en charge

La chirurgie des tumeurs cérébralesChaque année, environ 300 patients adultes porteurs de tumeurs intracrâniennes sont opérés dans le service de neurochirurgie du CHU de Poitiers.

En dehors des situations requérant une intervention chirurgicale en urgence, le traitement des patients atteints de tumeurs cérébrales est discuté au cours d’une voire de plusieurs réunions médicales. Celles-ci regroupent les différents praticiens impliqués dans la prise en charge de ces patients. Une première réunion de concertation pluridisciplinaire (RCP) de neuro oncologie (réseau Onco Poitou-Charentes : www.onco-poitou-charentes.fr) est dédiée aux tumeurs du système nerveux, une seconde est dédiée aux tumeurs touchant particulièrement la colonne vertébrale, une troisième est consacrée aux patients opérés d’une tumeur cérébrale en condition de chirurgie éveillée. Pour les patients atteints de pathologies particulièrement rares, des avis extérieurs peuvent être demandés, en particulier auprès de RCP nationales de recours.

Moyens disponibles

Les pathologies tumorales sont opérées grâce à un plateau technique complet : chirurgie assistée par ordinateur, stéréotaxie, endoscopie ventriculaire et de la base du crâne, cartographie corticale multimodale, monitoring électrophysiologique, microscopes, échographie per-opératoire), et à la collaboration étroite avec d’autres services : ORL pour les neurinomes de l’acoustique, endocrinologie pour les tumeurs de l’hypophyse, PRC pour la cancérologie.

Le service de neuroradiologie peut réaliser si nécessaire le traitement pré-opératoire, par embolisation endo-vasculaire, des tumeurs très vascularisées (en particulier pour certains méningiomes).

Le développement au cours des trois dernières années de la chirurgie en condition éveillée a permis d’améliorer encore la prise en charge des patients souffrant de tumeurs cérébrales.

L’UNITÉ DU RACHIS – la chirurgie mini invasive du rachis

Unité du rachisLa chirurgie mini-invasive du rachis regroupe un ensemble de techniques chirurgicales dont le but principal est de réduire les traumatismes opératoires liés à la voie d’abord du rachis. Cette avancée technologique est surtout due aux progrès techniques de la visualisation et de l’illumination optique (endoscopie et microscope opératoire) et à des instrumentations spécifiques conçues pour permettre des abords dits «mini-invasifs».

Le confort des patients est amélioré par une réduction des douleurs postopératoires, la réduction de leur durée d’hospitalisation et le retour plus rapide à une activité physique normale.

Au CHU de Poitiers, ces  techniques peu invasives sont couramment utilisées par les neurochirurgiens pour la chirurgie discale cervicale et lombaire, ainsi que pour des procédures de fusion rachidienne.

La chirurgie mini-invasive du rachis peut être utilisé pour enlever une hernie discale lombaire. Les patients subissant une chirurgie mini-invasive pour traiter une hernie discale, peuvent pour certains être en mesure de rentrer à la maison le jour même, le plus souvent le lendemain de l’intervention et de retourner au travail dans un délai de 2 à 4 semaines après l’intervention.

Ces techniques permettent la mise en place d’une instrumentation rachidienne. Les fractures-tassements vertébraux, par exemple  l’ostéoporose chez les patients âgés, peuvent aussi être traitées avec des techniques mini-invasives (kyphoplastie).

Tous les patients ne peuvent être traités par ces approches mini-invasives. Si la chirurgie est nécessaire, votre neurochirurgien, au moment de la consultation discutera avec vous si une technique mini-invasive peut être une option.

LA NEUROCHIRURGIE VASCULAIRE

Anévrysmes et hémorragie méningée (informations aux patients rédigées par la Société française de neurochirurgie).

Neurochirurgie vasculaireL’anévrysme cérébral est une hernie de la paroi artérielle réalisant un point de faiblesse, parfois allongé (anévrysme fusiforme), plus souvent sacciforme (en forme de sac). Cette zone de faiblesse peut se fissurer voire se rompre provoquant une hémorragie plus ou moins importante et grave : c’est la circonstance de découverte la plus fréquente. Sa gravité est souvent importante : une rupture sur deux est responsable d’un décès avant même l’arrivée à l’hôpital. Cette rupture va entraîner la présence de sang à la périphérie du cerveau et dans les formes les plus graves, une pénétration du sang dans le tissu cérébral avec constitution d’une collection de sang dans le cerveau (hématome) et/ dans les cavités qui sont à l’intérieur du cerveau (ventricules).

Le scanner effectué en urgence lors de la rupture va confirmer l’existence de l’hémorragie et va quelquefois mettre en évidence l’anévrysme.

De façon plus rare, c’est lors d’un bilan pour tout autre cause que le scanner, effectué à titre systématique, va révéler l’existence d’un anévrysme sur l’un des clichés.

Le plus souvent il est nécessaire de recourir à une artériographie (injection de produit de contraste dans les vaisseaux) pour montrer d’une part l’anévrysme et d’autre part l’état des vaisseaux qui l’entourent.

Ce bilan permet également de dépister l’existence d’autres anévrysmes associés. L’artériographie est également indispensable pour choisir le meilleur traitement possible de cet anévrysme.

Le traitement
Le but du traitement est d’exclure l’anévrysme pour éviter la rupture (découverte fortuite) ou éviter la récidive de rupture (découverte lors de l’hémorragie).

Deux méthodes existent :

  • le traitement endovasculaire (embolisation) pratiqué par les neuroradiologues. A cette date, 90% des anévrysmes sont traités par cette méthode par les Dr Drouineau et Velasco ;
  • le traitement chirurgical (clippage) est pratiqué par les neurochirurgiens, Dr Bataille, Dr Listrat et Dr Blanc. Le choix du traitement est discuté entre les neuro-radiologues et les neurochirurgiens. Tous ces traitements  nécessitent une anesthésie générale.

Les principes
Les deux méthodes ont comme principe commun de boucher l’anévrysme, tout en conservant la perméabilité du ou des vaisseaux dont il naît. Le traitement endovasculaire consiste à enrouler dans l’anévrysme, par l’intermédiaire d’une petite sonde porteuse introduite dans sa cavité, des petites spires (coïls) jusqu’à ce qu’il soit complètement bouché. Le traitement chirurgical consiste à disséquer les vaisseaux porteurs de l’anévrysme, et mettre une petite pince (clip) sur le collet de l’anévrysme (partie qui le fait communiquer avec l’artère) pour l’exclure de la circulation.

Hématome intracérébral

Ces hématomes sont relativement fréquents, souvent en relation avec une hypertension artérielle. L’unité de réanimation neurochirurgicale prend en charge ces patients à la phase aiguée pour un traitement médical ; en cas de résistance à ces traitements, une chirurgie est parfois proposée.

Malformations vasculaires

Le terme de malformation artério-veineuse cérébrale (MAV) ou angiome cérébral désigne une malformation vasculaire entre artères et veines du cerveau réalisant un court-circuit qui fait que la pression du sang est anormalement élevée dans la malformation et dans les veines qui drainent cette MAV ce qui expose à un saignement dans le cerveau La localisation de ces MAV est beaucoup plus fréquente dans le cerveau que dans le cervelet. Le volume de la lésion est très variable. La lésion peut être située superficielle ou au contraire profonde.

Il s’agit d’une malformation congénitale ce qui ne veut pas dire qu’elle soit héréditaire.

Les risques évolutifs et les circonstances de découverte :

  • 1° Le risque principal des MAV est la rupture et donc l’hémorragie. Une hémorragie se produit au sein du cerveau, autour de la lésion. Cette hémorragie peut être grave en terme de menace fonctionnelle ou même vitale. C’est le mode de découverte le plus fréquent. Le risque annuel de rupture est évalué entre1% et 4% par an ; il est cumulatif et donc globalement d’autant plus élevé que le sujet est plus jeune.
  • 2° Les crises d’épilepsie constituent le deuxième mode de révélation des MAV, dans 30% des cas ; elles sont liées à irritation du cerveau situé autour de la lésion.
  • 3° Plus rarement le détournement de sang provoqué par une volumineuse MAV aboutit à une souffrance ischémique du cerveau. Progressivement se constitue un déficit neurologique moteur ou neuropsychologique.
  • 4° De plus en plus souvent la MAV est une découverte fortuite lors d’un scanner ou d’une IRM réalisés pour un autre problème.

Le diagnostic est fait sur le scanner et/ou l’IRM. Sauf exception, il n’est pas nécessaire de recourir à une angiographie cérébrale pour faire le diagnostic d’une MAV. Mais cet examen est indispensable pour prendre une décision thérapeutique.

Le but du traitement est de faire disparaître la MAV afin de mettre le patient à l’abri d’une hémorragie.

Trois modalités de traitement sont aujourd’hui à notre disposition : l’embolisation par voie endovasculaire , la chirurgie et la radiochirurgie stéréotaxique :

  • 1° L’embolisation par voie endovasculaire se propose d’occlure les vaisseaux anormaux en y injectant une colle acrylique. Il est souvent difficile d’obtenir une occlusion complète et définitive de la MAV par ce seul traitement même avec plusieurs séances d’embolisation . L’éradication complète de la MAV n’est obtenue que dans 15% des cas.
  • 2° La chirurgie a pour but l’ablation complète et définitive de la MAV. Ce traitement n’est possible que si la lésion ne dépasse pas un certain volume et n’est pas profondément située dans le cerveau. Ce traitement peut être appliqué en urgence dans certains cas d’hémorragie importante en particulier chez l’enfant. Un contrôle artériographique post-opératoire est nécessaire pour affirmer la disparition de la MAV : s’il persiste un fragment résiduel, une nouvelle intervention ou une radiochirurgie peuvent être proposées.
  • 3° La radiochirurgie stéréotaxique est une irradiation administrée en une seule séance. Les rayons sont focalisés précisément sur la MAV. Elle est proposée pour des MAV de moins de 3 centimètres de diamètre et le plus souvent situées profondément dans le cerveau. Le résultat n’est obtenu que 2 à 3 ans plus tard, car le traitement provoque une réaction retardée au niveau des vaisseaux anormaux qui se bouchent petit à petit. Une artériographie est nécessaire pour affirmer que la MAV a disparu. Le risque d’hémorragie persiste tant que la MAV n’a pas disparu. La radiochirurgie permet d’éradiquer la MAV dans 60 à 90% des cas selon sa taille.

Ces trois formes de traitement ont des indications assez précises qui sont discutées entre neurochirurgiens, neuroradiologues et radiothérapeutes. Parfois ces traitements sont combinés pour obtenir une occlusion ou une éradication complète et définitive, ce qui est l’objectif principal et essentiel.

Plus la malformation artério-veineuse est volumineuse plus elle touche des zones cérébrales complexes et plus son traitement complet sera difficile ou dangereux. Un traitement palliatif incomplet peut être alors le seul plan de traitement proposé. L’abstention thérapeutique peut être justifiée en particulier s’il n’y a jamais eu d’épisode clinique d’hémorragie.

LA CHIRURGIE DE L’HYPOPHYSE

Adénome hypophysaireCliquez ici

LA CHIRURGIE DU NEURINOME DE L’ACOUSTIQUE

Cliquez ici


LA NEUROCHIRURGIE FONCTIONNELLE ET STÉRÉOTAXIQUE

Neurochirurgie fonctionnelleLe Pr Bataille est en charge de la neurochirurgie fonctionnelle et stéréotaxique appliquée aux mouvements anormaux et aux troubles psychiatriques. Le service est reconnu comme centre référent au sein de l’inter région pour cette activité. L’activité de stimulation cérébrale profonde est développée au sein du pôle neurosciences dans le cadre de l’unité de « neuromodulation et pathologies du mouvement et du comportement » en collaboration avec le Pr Houeto (neurologue) et le Dr Jaafari (psychiatre). L’activité de stimulation cérébrale profonde est couplée à une activité de recherche importante.


Film Parkinson

Voir le reportage sur la stimulation cérébrale
Source : La Nouvelle République / Centre presse – février 2012



La stimulation cérébrale profonde est utilisée comme traitement dans certains cas de maladie de Parkinson. Elle consiste à stimuler électriquement des structures ciblées du cerveau – le noyau sous-thalamique (NST) ou le globus pallidus interne (GPi) – qui régulent les mouvements et la fonction musculaire. Une sonde munie d’électrodes minuscules est implantée chirurgicalement dans le cerveau et reliée en sous-cutané par une extension à un neurostimulateur implanté près de la clavicule. La stimulation électrique peut être réglée d’une manière non invasive en fonction des besoins de chaque patient.

Le système de stimulation est implanté par l’équipe de neurochirurgie fonctionnelle à l’aide d’un cadre stéréotaxique et de techniques d’imagerie, comme l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM), pour cartographier et localiser la cible dans le cerveau. La sonde est introduite dans le crâne par un trou de trépan et implantée dans la zone ciblée du cerveau.

L’opération est réalisée sous anesthésie générale et comporte selon les cas 1 ou 2 réveils per-opératoire. On pratique le trou de trépan et l’on introduit dans le cerveau une électrode de test. Le patient est  réveillé, conscient et le neurochirurgien et un spécialiste des troubles du mouvement peuvent tester la stimulation afin d’optimiser la suppression des symptômes et de réduire au minimum les effets secondaires avant de mettre en place la sonde de stimulation chronique.

Neurochirurgie 2
Une fois la sonde de stimulation chronique en place, le patient est mis sous anesthésie générale. Puis l’on passe une extension sous le cuir chevelu et sous la peau du cou et de l’épaule afin de relier la sonde au neurostimulateur. Enfin, une petite incision est pratiquée près de la clavicule et le neurostimulateur est implanté en sous-cutané.

Peu de temps après l’opération, le patient revient voir le neurologue pour la programmation initiale du neurostimulateur. En programmant le neurostimulateur, le médecin tente d’optimiser la maîtrise des symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson et de réduire au minimum les effets secondaires éventuels. Puis il planifie des consultations de suivi.

Pour régler la stimulation, le neurologue utilise un programmateur qui communique par radio-fréquence avec le neurostimulateur, ce qui constitue une manière indolore et non invasive de régler la stimulation en fonction des besoins du patient.

La stimulation cérébrale profonde ne guérit pas la maladie de Parkinson. Il n’existe pas à l’heure actuelle de remède à la maladie de Parkinson. La stimulation cérébrale profonde peut traiter certains des symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson et améliorer les fonctions mais ne guérit pas la pathologie sous-jacente. Si le traitement est arrêté, les symptômes du patient réapparaissent.

La stimulation cérébrale peut agir non seulement sur des symptômes neurologiques (maladie de Parkinson, Gilles de la Tourette, tremblement essentiel et dystonie) mais également des phénomènes psychiatriques comme les TOC et la dépression profonde, domaine dans lequel notre équipe est très impliquée au plan national et international.


LA NEUROCHIRURGIE DE LA DOULEUR ET DU HANDICAP

La neurochirurgie fonctionnelle fait appel aux pompes implantables pour la spasticité et la douleur, aux stimulateurs implantables (douleurs chroniques, épilepsie rebelle), et à certaines interventions microchirurgicales (décompression vasculo-nerveuse pour la névralgie ou l’hémispasme facial).

Le service de neurochirurgie est particulièrement innovant dans la prise en charge des douleurs chroniques.